Alabama Taxpayers Affected By Severe Storms on March 19 Granted Extra Time to File Their Taxes

Written on March 26, 2018

The Alabama Department of Revenue is extending deadlines for individuals and businesses in the counties where a state of emergency is in effect, a press release said.

“Our thoughts and prayers are with the people of Alabama who have been affected by these disastrous storms,” Revenue Commissioner Vernon Barnett said. “As they recover from the challenges and hardships caused by the storms, the Department is offering this assistance to hopefully help ease some of the burden.”

Alabama taxpayers affected by the March 19 storms in the declared emergency areas with tax returns due from March 20 through April 30 have two months beyond the original deadlines to file without penalties, according to the Alabama Department of Revenue.

The counties included in the state of emergency, signed by Gov. Kay Ivey Tuesday, are: Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Walker and Winston.

According to a press release, people who use this extension should write “Severe Weather Relief – 2018” in red ink on any state paper return or report which relies on this filing extension relief. For electronically filed returns or reports, affected taxpayers should contact ADOR to make sure they do not receive penalties.

It is likely that the IRS will also grant federal tax deadline extensions if FEMA declares the area a disaster zone. Warren Averett will continue to monitor this situation should the IRS also extend deadlines. If you have questions regarding this deadline extension, contact your Warren Averett Advisor.


Back to Resources

Related Insights